Shao-Fang Wen graduated

Shao-Fang Wen successfully completed his PhD trial lecture and thesis defense at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology on Wednesday, the 20th of May 2020 and will be awarded the degree of Doctor of Philosophy in Information Security and Communication Technology.

The title of his thesis is A Multi-Discipline Approach for Enhancing Developer Learning in Software Security and the given topic for his trial lecture was “Quantitative Approaches to Software Quality Measurement”.

Today’s software is still insecure. Many software developers lack knowledge about secure software development and that is a major problem.

Wen’s thesis investigates how developers’ learning of software security can be enhanced and draws from cross-disciplinary thinking at the intersections of sociology, education, software engineering and others.

The contextual factors that affect developers’ learning of software security are investigated and a context-based learning tool for effective security education and learning is suggested. With that, this thesis contributes to the fields of software development and security education.

The following committee has been appointed to evaluate his thesis, trial lecture and defense:

  • First external opponent: Associate Professor Lynn Futcher, Department of Information Technology, School of Information and Communication Technology, Nelson Mandela University, Port Elizabeth, South Africa.
  • Second external opponent: Associate Professor Anh Nguyen Duc, Department of Business and IT, School of Business, The University of South-Eastern Norway (USN), Bø, Norway.
  • Internal member and committee administrator: Associate Professor Hao Wang, Department of Computer Science, NTNU, Gjøvik, Norway.

Shao-Fang Wen carried out his PhD work at the Department of Information Security and Communication Technology, NTNU in Gjøvik.

His main supervisor was Associate Professor Basel Katt, Department of Information Security and Communication Technology, NTNU and co-supervisors Professor Stewart James Kowalski, Department of Information Security and Communication Technology, NTNU, and Professor Rune Hjelsvold, Department of Computer Science, NTNU.


This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.